Class Notes 11/15

  • Who is “I” & who is Laloo?
    • parasitical relationship?
  • What is real & fake?
    • real blood, fake blood p. 6
    • I am writing this in a fluorescent kitchen, I mean foyer. 25

    • This Is A Real Body p. 27
    • “The day was real in a different way back then, in the way that it sensitized me to risk, a kind of twin to permission. Two black swans: that day and this one, history and fiction, what I went for and what I really wanted, …” p 33

    • “In her red dress, she is like a girl in a fairytale, geographically. (All the branches behind her have begun to stir.)” 92

  • What is a monster? What is a cyborg?
    • “The monster is that being who refuses to adapt to her circumstances.” (7)
    • “A monster hallucinates; a cyborg has a more sexual agenda.” 10

    • “There is something about a monster that is formulated in these hours or days just after birth; a crossed or normal birth that, either way, is connected to a profound confusion deep in the routines of transference.” 11

    • “Cyborgs are built for assimilation into households and factories.” 12

    • I said, “What is a monster?” You said: “Anybody different.” 16

    • “A cyborg progresses the biology; a monster refuses its future …” 58

    • “A monster is always itinerant.” 87

    • “Assimilation is a technology of growth.” 91

  • What are the quotations doing? Where are they from?
  • What is the pregnancy in the text?
    • I could not stop her from giving birth to herself if I tried. 14

  • What is red?
    • blood, scarlatina (scarlet fever), bindi, rain (33), Laloo, “I” (39), dust (54)
  • What does it mean to write opposites?
    • “I want to write opposites” 21, 23
  • “Please call me and tell me what the difference is between a monster and a cyborg. I need to know. Also, you can e-mail me at beatricehastogo@yahoo.com”

  • “My address is 786 Thomas Street, Beatrice, NE, 80349. My name is Laloo. Please write to me, from the border of Texas and Mexico, where the candlelit vigils are held each Day of the Dead for the dead who died when crossing.” 81

  • “I invite you to write the remaining rules for the people who keep going.” 81

About Erica Mena

Erica Mena is a boricua, genderqueer, latinx poet, translator, and book artist.
This entry was posted in Class Notes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

