Prayer cards

I would like the church to pray for

A generation of women who don’t know apology

Whose lips curl around “well I did”

and “because I wanted to.”

 

I would like the church to pray for

and end to boys who think that their

thin

floating

evaporating

“apologies”

are enough.
I would like the church to pray for

all the other churches

and all the other worshippers

who worship all the other gods.

 

I would like the church to pray for

sweet to follow bitter

wills to come with ways

silver to streak the clouds with lining

life to follow the order we’ve been told it has.

 

I would like the church to pray for

me

to feel warmth curved along my back

the kind only brought by the touch

of another human

also prayed for by the church.

 

I would like the church to pray for answers

to all we haven’t figured out

like

how do we find justice without making the world blind?

 

I would like the church to pray for

not only answers but

questions

because sometimes we need help asking.

 

I would like the church to pray for

itself.

 

I would like the church to pray for

more of that feeling you get

when you’ve had just the right amount of red wine

in the day-to-day.

 

I would like the church to pray for

every bead of sweat produced by exertion

that crops up on someone’s forehead

as she tries

to be rewarded.

 

I would like the church to pray for

the tears to dry.

 

I would like the church to pray for

those who only find solace in the small pleasures.

The perfectly toasted crust on a dish of homemade mac and cheese.

 

I would like the church to pray for

the lactose intolerant.

 

I would like the church to pray for

those who cannot enjoy the small pleasures

because their minds are weighted too heavily with all

the other things

that aren’t small

and that aren’t pleasures.

 

I would like the church to pray for

the pavement to continue moving

beneath my feet

as my muscles tighten and release

and as I spring forward after each landing.

 

I would like the church to pray for

an end to the notion of being embarrassed

because it’s bullshit.
I would like the church to pray for

the oceans

because oceans always seem to be praying

and it would be nice if someone prayed back for once.
I would like the church to pray for

my cat

because she sleeps so peaceful

and hasn’t done anyone harm

besides that mouse

and that baby mole.

 

I would like the church to pray for

babies

because they do not yet know how to pray for themselves.
I would like the church to pray for

grown adults

who also do not know how to pray for themselves.

 

I would like the church to pray for

flames and rain

curtains and moonlight

vodka and the elliptical.

 

I would like the church to pray for

you

to understand this.

 

 

This entry was posted in Reading Responses, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

